1.Where It Is, and When Each Part of the Park Opens
The park grounds and the lake run 5:30 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily. Three other clocks sit inside that: the Wheel Friendly Plaza closes at 9:30 p.m., the splash pad keeps two seasonal blocks, and Arizona Game and Fish publishes its own 7 a.m. opening for the lake.
| Part of the park | Hours | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Park grounds | 5:30 a.m. – 10 p.m. | Town |
| The Lake at Mansel Park | 5:30 a.m. – 10 p.m. | Town |
| The Lake at Mansel Park | 7 a.m. – 10 p.m. | AZGFD |
| Wheel Friendly Plaza | 7 a.m. – 9:30 p.m. | Town |
| Splash pad, Mar, Apr, Oct | 9 a.m. – 7 p.m. | Town |
| Splash pad, May–Sept | 8 a.m. – 9 p.m. | Town |
The Town and the state publish different opening times for the same lake. The Town owns and operates the park, so plan an early walk around its 5:30 a.m. opening. Arizona Game and Fish writes the fishing rules and lists 7 a.m., so treat that as the start if you are there to fish.
2.How Big the Park Really Is, and Why the Town Page Still Says 48 Acres
Mansel Carter Oasis Park is 48 acres plus a 13-acre Phase II expansion. The 48 acres come from the Town’s 2018 grand-opening release and are still what the live page prints; the 13 acres come from two later releases. That totals about 61 acres — arithmetic on Town numbers, not a figure the Town has republished.
| Date | Milestone | Size stated |
|---|---|---|
| Sept. 1, 2018 | Park opens; ribbon cutting 7:30 a.m., festivities 8–11 a.m. | 48 acres |
| Nov. 9, 2022 | Phase II groundbreaking, then slated to open late 2023 | 13 acres |
| July 10, 2024 | Phase II opens with a ribbon cutting and a tennis clinic | 13 acres |
Phase II brought the tennis, volleyball and pickleball courts, an outdoor fitness zone, extra restrooms and parking, and passive green space. J2 Design and J2 Engineering drew it, Haydon Building Corporation built it, and the pump track arrived earlier in 2024. Note the slip: the groundbreaking release promised late 2023; the ribbon was cut in July 2024.
At the 2022 groundbreaking, Vice Mayor Jeff Brown framed the expansion as a promise being kept: “We opened Mansel Carter Oasis Park in 2018 and it has been bustling with sports, kids running around, family activities and laughter… We are thrilled to be expanding the park, as promised when it opened.”
The Town has published no standalone price tag for this park — none of its three dated releases names a dollar figure. The only Town cost figure that touches it is the $157 million in the Recreation and Aquatic Center groundbreaking release, and that figure covers three projects together: the Recreation and Aquatic Center, Frontier Family Park and this park’s Phase II.
3.Everything at Mansel Carter Oasis Park, Counted
The Town’s full published inventory as of September 2026, with cost beside each item. Anything marked free is first come, first served, no booking needed. Two items sit in neither column: the Town’s park page lists the tennis courts as paid reservations but its rental sheet prints no tennis rate, and the multi-purpose fields appear on neither. Call Parks and Recreation on (480) 358-3700 for those two.
| Amenity | Count and detail | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Baseball fields, lighted | 4 — 46 ft mound, 60 ft base path, 200 ft fence | $36/hr resident |
| Multi-purpose fields, lighted | 2 | No rate published |
| Tennis courts | 6 — tennis arrived with Phase II | Paid reservation; no rate published |
| Sand volleyball courts | 6 | $15/hr resident |
| Pickleball courts | 4 | Free — open play only |
| Basketball courts, lighted | 2 | $15/hr resident |
| Playgrounds | The Town lists 1 in the ball-field complex and 1 inclusive playground | Free |
| Fishing lake | 5 acres, 13 ft deep, peninsula and waterfall | Free; Peninsula Venue $150/hr resident |
| Splash pad | Shipwreck-themed, seasonal | Free |
| Pump track | 1, beside the skate plaza | Free |
| Wheel-friendly skate plaza | 1 | Free |
| Sand discovery dig zone | 1 | Free |
| Picnic ramadas | 8, two of them large-group | $20–$60/hr resident |
| Outdoor fitness pods | 3 | Free |
| Restrooms | 3 facilities, 2 of them family | Free |
| Trail access | Wash Trail plus an equestrian hitch post | Free |
| Parking | “Ample”; no stall count published | Free |
The hitch post is a clue: this is one of the two parks where the Town publishes public parking for the roughly six-mile Queen Creek Wash Trail, which the Town lists as free, sunrise to sunset, with no reservation. The other is Desert Mountain Park. Do not confuse it with the Sonoqui Wash Trail, a separate 3.8-mile trail whose published parking is at Horseshoe Park & Equestrian Centre. An Arizona Field Ornithologists survey running December 2019 to December 2020 logged 65 cumulative species along the Queen Creek Wash and 70 along the Sonoqui Wash — two washes, two counts.
4.The Splash Pad Season, the Pump Track and the 2026 E-Bike Ordinance
The splash pad is shipwreck-themed, free and seasonal. The Town’s park page, checked September 20, 2026, publishes two blocks: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. in March, April and October, and 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. from May through September. The longest water days are the hottest ones, which is the point. No reservation and no resident card — but seasonal hours are the kind of thing a town changes, so check the Town’s page against the date above before you load the car.
The wheels side is two separate things: a pump track added in 2024 and a wheel-friendly skate plaza. The plaza closes at 9:30 p.m., half an hour before the rest of the park. Our month-by-month weather guide covers what May to September does to an outdoor morning.
Since May 21, 2026, Town Ordinance 890-26 has restricted e-bikes, electric mini-scooters, motorized play vehicles and motorized skateboards in Town parks, with prohibited-use areas, hands-free rules, speed limits and impound provisions. Accessibility devices such as motorized wheelchairs are excluded.
5.Fishing the Lake at Mansel Park: License, Bag Limits and What Is Banned
The Lake at Mansel Park is 5 acres and 13 feet at its deepest, and it is part of Arizona Game and Fish’s Community Fishing Program. A license is required for anyone 10 and over; the Town and the state both say so. Under Arizona’s statewide license rules, anglers under 10 and blind Arizona residents are exempt, and a license is valid 365 days from purchase.
| Species | Daily bag limit | Minimum size |
|---|---|---|
| Catfish | 4 | None stated |
| Trout | 4 | None stated |
| Bass | 2 | 13 inches |
| Sunfish | 10 | None stated |
| White amur | 1 | 30 inches |
| All other species | Statewide limits apply | Statewide rules apply |
The state also prohibits swimming, wading, boating, glass containers, littering and remote-control watercraft here. Its Community Fishing Program signage stands at the water, so the license and bag-limit rules are posted where you fish.
The distinction people get wrong: Frontier Family Park also has a 5-acre lake and also requires a license at 10 and over, but it is not in the state’s Community Fishing Program directory and carries no bag-limit card.
One gap: we could not confirm a current stocking schedule for this lake, and license prices are not listed alongside the rules — they are sold through a separate portal. Confirm both with Arizona Game and Fish before planning around a stocking date.
6.What Costs Money: Ramada, Field and Court Rental Rates
Walking in, parking, the playgrounds, splash pad, pump track, skate plaza and dig zone are free. Reservations are the only charge the Town makes here — fishing is the one other cost, and that is a state license, not a Town fee. The Town posts its rental rates openly.
| Facility | Capacity | Lower rate | Higher rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grayling, Perch and Pike ramadas | 30 | $20/hr resident | $30/hr non-resident |
| Bass, Trout and Catfish ramadas | 30 | $25/hr resident | $37.50/hr non-resident |
| Bluegill and Sunfish ramadas | 65–200 | $60/hr resident | $90/hr non-resident |
| Peninsula Venue (not a ramada) | 200+ | $150/hr resident | $225/hr non-resident |
| Baseball fields 1–4 | Not stated | $36/hr resident or non-profit | $54/hr non-resident or commercial |
| Basketball and sand volleyball courts | Not stated | $15/hr resident or non-profit | $22.50/hr non-resident or commercial |
| Pickleball courts 1–4 | Not stated | Not reservable | Not reservable |
The two columns are not labeled the same way throughout the Town’s sheet. On the ramadas and the Peninsula Venue it prints resident and non-resident; on the fields and courts it prints resident/non-profit and non-resident/commercial. The Peninsula Venue is grouped under the ramada heading on that sheet, but it is a separate lakeside venue, not one of the eight picnic ramadas.
Worked example: two hours for a 70-person party in a Bluegill or Sunfish ramada costs a resident $120, a non-resident $180. The same two hours on the lakeside Peninsula Venue is $300 and $450 — a $180 to $270 premium for the frontage.
- Book through the Town’s REC1 reservation catalog — ramadas, fields and courts.
- To check a date by phone instead, call Parks and Recreation on (480) 358-3700.
- Finish the booking at least three business days ahead: the park regulations set that lead time for exclusive use and for tents, generators or amplified sound.
- Ask about a refundable damage deposit: the same regulations say one may be required, without naming an amount.
7.Who Mansel Carter Was, and What the Town Does Not Say
The Town’s park page and all three of its dated releases — 2018, 2022 and 2024 — describe amenities and say nothing about the name. There is no Town-published explanation of who the park honors.
The one record of a Mansel Carter our sources turn up nearby belongs to Maricopa County Parks, which operates San Tan Mountain Regional Park — land that physically sits in Pinal County — and which was established in 1986 under a cooperative agreement among Maricopa County, Pinal County and the Bureau of Land Management. Its park history records that prospectors Mansel Carter and Marion Kennedy lived and worked in the San Tan Mountains in the 1940s, mining gold, silver and turquoise, and that historic sites and graves from that era remain near Goldmine Mountain.
What we cannot source: any document explicitly tying that prospector to this park’s name, or an official biography of him. Treat any naming story you read elsewhere as unverified until the Town says otherwise — Parks and Recreation on (480) 358-3700 is the place to ask.
8.Mansel Carter, Frontier or Desert Mountain: Which One for Which Day
The Town’s three big multi-use parks are not interchangeable. Their own Town-published figures, side by side:
| Park | Size | What it has that the others do not | Lake |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mansel Carter Oasis | 48 acres + 13-acre Phase II | Pump track, skate plaza, shipwreck splash pad, 6 tennis courts | 5 acres, AZGFD community water |
| Frontier Family | 85 acres | 24 lighted pickleball courts (1–16 open play, 17–24 reservable), 1.5-mile perimeter path | 5 acres, not on the AZGFD list |
| Desert Mountain | 29 acres | Amphitheater with ramada seating for 150–200, demonstration garden, equestrian staging | None |
Rule of thumb: water, wheels and fishing here; pickleball or a walking loop at the 85-acre park off 220th Street; the amphitheater at Desert Mountain. If you are weighing the town rather than the Saturday, start with the wider Queen Creek guide.
9.Before You Go: Parking, Crowds and the Rules That Catch People Out
The Town describes parking only as “ample,” publishes no stall count and publishes no attendance figures — so any busiest-hour statistic quoted to you here is a guess. What is knowable is what competes for the lot: four baseball fields, six tennis courts, six volleyball courts, two basketball courts and eight ramadas can all be booked at once, and those blocks show in the Town’s catalog before you leave home.
The before-you-go checklist
- Check the REC1 catalog for booked field, court and ramada blocks on your date.
- Fishing: buy the Arizona license first, for everyone 10 and over, and read the bag-limit card.
- Splash pad: 9 a.m.–7 p.m. in March, April and October; 8 a.m.–9 p.m. May to September, per the Town’s page in September 2026.
- The skate plaza closes at 9:30 p.m., not 10 p.m.
- Dogs leashed at all times on a lead no longer than six feet, waste picked up immediately.
- No glass containers, and no open alcohol without a special event liquor license or permit.
- Drones: not within 50 feet of a reserved-use or active-play boundary; FAA TRUST, a registered drone, line of sight, under 400 feet. Commercial flying needs a Town permit.
- E-bikes, e-scooters and motorized skateboards: Ordinance 890-26 applies here.
- Reservations and equipment permits: submit at least three business days ahead.
The Town’s park rules flyer states the ceiling plainly: a maximum fine of $2,500 and/or up to six months imprisonment. The flyer is undated and names no code section, and a maximum is not a routine outcome — but it is why the glass and leash rules are not suggestions.