1.Where Frontier Family Park Is, and When the Gates Are Open
The park address is 20039 S. 220th Street, Queen Creek, AZ 85142, and the gates are open 5:30 a.m. to 10 p.m. every day, as the Town publishes it in September 2026. There is no entry fee, no resident card and no parking charge. The Parks & Recreation office takes questions on (480) 358-3700, and the park sits at roughly 33.26762, -111.60439 if you would rather drop a pin than trust an address lookup.
One address quirk trips up first-time visitors. The Town’s pages for the Queen Creek Recreation & Aquatic Center list a facility address of 22343 E. Ryan Road while also stating that the center is located at Frontier Family Park, 20039 S. 220th St. Those are two street frontages of one complex, not two destinations: the center building fronts Ryan Road, the park grounds are addressed off 220th Street. Navigate to whichever matches the thing you actually want.
On parking, the Town says only “ample parking” and publishes no stall count for this park, so treat capacity on a Saturday tournament morning as unknown rather than guaranteed. The Town also publishes no distance table from this park to individual subdivisions, and we are not going to invent one; if you are weighing addresses around it, start from our comparison of Queen Creek neighborhoods and drive the route yourself at the hour you care about.
The 5:30 a.m. opening is the most useful number on this page between May and September. Against a 10 p.m. close and lighted courts, it gives the park two comfortable windows a day in midsummer rather than none.
2.Everything at Frontier Family Park, Counted
Below is the Town’s full published amenity inventory for the park, as listed in September 2026, with the counts kept exactly as the Town states them.
| Amenity | Count or spec | Lighted |
|---|---|---|
| Pickleball courts | 24 | Yes |
| Baseball / softball fields | 6, with 315-foot outfield fences | Yes |
| Multi-purpose fields | 3 | Yes |
| Sand volleyball courts | 2 | Yes |
| Basketball courts | 2 | Yes |
| Inclusive playground | 1, built similar to Mansel Carter Oasis Park | Not stated |
| Fishing lake | 5 acres | Not stated |
| Picnic ramadas | 10, including 2 corporate ramadas | Not stated |
| Large-group picnic ramadas | 2 | Not stated |
| Multiuse perimeter path | 1.5 miles | Not stated |
| Spray pad | 1, seasonal hours | Not stated |
| ADA access | Throughout; Pickleball Court 8 is ADA accessible | Not applicable |
Two rows in that table describe the same structures, and the Town’s own page is the reason. Its amenity list names “10 picnic ramadas (2 corporate)” and then separately names “2 large-group picnic ramadas.” The outdoor-rental fee schedule resolves it: there are exactly ten bookable shelters, Ramadas 1 through 8 at capacity 30 plus Corporate Ramadas 9 and 10 at capacity 100-plus. Plan around ten, not twelve.
The inclusive playground is the one feature the Town explicitly ties to another park: its page describes it as built “similar to” the one at Mansel Carter Oasis Park. That is the Town’s whole phrasing, and it is loose — it is not a statement that the two playgrounds share a layout or the same equipment, and the Town publishes no comparison of the two. Treat it as a family resemblance, not a copy.
3.What Costs Money: Ramada, Field and Court Rental Rates
Entry is free. Exclusive use is not. These are the Town’s published outdoor-rental rates as of September 2026, quoted per hour, with the lower figure for residents and non-profits and the higher figure for non-residents and commercial users.
| Facility | Capacity or spec | Resident / non-profit | Non-resident / commercial |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ramadas 1–8 | 30 people | $25 | $37.50 |
| Corporate Ramadas 9 & 10 | 100+ people | $60 | $90 |
| Baseball Fields 1–6 | 55–90 ft base paths, 315 ft fences | $36 | $54 |
| Pickleball Courts 17–24 | 8 reservable courts | $15 | $22.50 |
| Basketball court | Per court | $15 | $22.50 |
| Sand volleyball court | Per court | $15 | $22.50 |
A worked example: a three-hour Saturday party for 60 people
- Corporate Ramada 9 holds the group: three hours at the $60 resident rate is $180.
- Add two hours on a reservable pickleball court, 17 through 24, at $15 an hour: $30.
- Running total $210, before the refundable damage deposit the Town may require. Field-prep fees are quoted separately, on the ball-field rows of the same schedule.
- Book it at least three business days ahead, online or at the Parks & Recreation customer service desk. The same three-day rule covers team practices and games, tents, generators and amplified sound.
A Frontier Family Park ramada reservation does not include access to the Recreation & Aquatic Center, even though the center sits on the same site. Baseball field rates include lights and field usage, but field-prep fees are quoted separately and vary.
Ramadas, fields and courts all book through the Town’s REC1 online catalog, which also carries the live rate sheet. The figures above are the September 2026 schedule, not a permanent price — check before you budget a big booking.
4.The Paid Building Inside the Free Park
The park is free. The Queen Creek Recreation & Aquatic Center built inside it is not, and it is the single most common mix-up about this address. The Recreation Center opened March 29, 2025; the Aquatic Center started family swim hours on May 24, 2025, about two months later, which is why different sources online give the place two different opening dates.
The access rule matters more than the price. Day passes and memberships are sold only to Town of Queen Creek residents. A non-resident can buy a day pass solely when accompanied by a Queen Creek resident, and that resident may bring up to two non-resident guests. The head of household needs a valid photo ID plus one proof of residency — a current utility bill showing the service address, a current property tax document, a current lease or an IRS filing document.
| Pass or rental | Price | Who or what it covers |
|---|---|---|
| Discounted day pass | $5.00 | Youth 18 months–17, seniors 55+, active military and veterans |
| Adult day pass | $7.00 | Ages 18–54 |
| Aquatic Center ramada, capacity 30 | $150 per hour | Resident or non-profit; day passes not included |
| Aquatic Center ramada, capacity 15 | $75 per hour | Resident or non-profit; day passes not included |
| Frontier park ramada, capacity 30 | $25 per hour | Resident or non-profit; park grounds only |
The $25 park ramada and the $150 pool ramada are different products on the same campus. Pool ramadas are available only during family swim hours, and the day passes for everyone under the ramada are charged on top of the rental. If you book the cheap one expecting the lazy river, you have booked the wrong thing.
What the center is for, in the Town’s own words: in a release dated November 21, 2024, Mayor Julia Wheatley said residents “have been asking for a pool, slides, indoor sports courts.” The full membership and day-pass breakdown covers household rates, the teen room and child watch hours.
5.Pickleball: Which of the 24 Courts You Can Actually Reserve
Frontier carries 24 lighted pickleball courts — more than every other park on the Town’s official parks list combined, since Mansel Carter Oasis Park lists four and the Town’s other parks list none. That is the single strongest reason to drive here rather than anywhere else in town.
- Courts 1–16: free open play. No reservation, no fee, first come. Court 8 is the ADA-accessible court.
- Courts 17–24: reservable. $15 an hour for residents and non-profits, $22.50 for non-residents and commercial users, booked through the Town’s REC1 catalog.
- All 24 are lighted, which is what makes a 7 p.m. summer game possible against a 10 p.m. park close.
- Three business days minimum to secure a reserved court. This is not a same-day booking system, and nothing on the Town’s page suggests otherwise.
If you only ever play pick-up, the reservation system is irrelevant to you: two thirds of the courts here are open play, and Mansel Carter’s four courts are open play only and cannot be reserved at all.
6.Fishing the 5-Acre Lake: The License Rule and the AZGFD Catch
The Town’s rule is short: the lake at Frontier Family Park requires a fishing license for anyone 10 years old and over. Behind it sits Arizona’s statewide rule — resident and non-resident anglers aged 10 and up need a valid Arizona fishing license, or a combination hunt-and-fish license, on any publicly accessible water. Anglers under 10 and blind Arizona residents are exempt, and a license runs 365 days from the date of purchase.
Now the part nobody else writes down. The Town’s June 2024 grand-opening release calls this a “community fishing lake,” but the Arizona Game & Fish Department’s own Phoenix-area Community Fishing directory lists only Mansel Carter Oasis Lake under the Queen Creek heading. Frontier Family Park’s lake does not appear on AZGFD’s list of designated Community Fishing Program waters at all.
The practical consequence: Frontier’s lake carries no AZGFD Community Fishing bag-limit card, the way Mansel Carter Oasis Lake does — AZGFD publishes a daily limit there of 4 catfish, 4 trout, 2 bass at a 13-inch minimum, 10 sunfish and 1 white amur at a 30-inch minimum. No AZGFD stocking calendar is published for either water, and whether the Town stocks Frontier’s lake independently, and on what schedule, is not stated on any Town or AZGFD page we could find.
The license rule does not change with the designation: the Town requires one to fish this lake either way. Current license types, exemptions and prices are published by the Arizona Game & Fish Department, which is the authority to confirm them with. AZGFD sells through a separate portal and publishes no dollar prices on its main rules page, so we are not quoting one here.
7.Summer, the Spray Pad Season and the Lightning Siren
The spray pad is the only amenity here that keeps its own calendar, and the Town publishes hours for March through October only.
| Months | Spray pad hours |
|---|---|
| March, April and October | 9 a.m. – 7 p.m. |
| May through September | 8 a.m. – 9 p.m. |
| November through February | No hours published |
Queen Creek has no published 30-year climate normals of its own. The nearest official NOAA station is Phoenix Sky Harbor, where the 1991–2020 normal July high is 106.5°F and September’s average high is still 100.4°F (its average low is 78.1°F), and the area records 111.3 days a year at or above 100°F — 80.2 of them in summer. That is the backdrop to every June-through-September plan here. Our month-by-month weather breakdown has the full set, and the summer survival guide covers the rest of the season.
The Town publishes no shade-structure coverage for Frontier Family Park, so do not assume a shaded playground or shaded courts — check it on arrival. What it does publish is that the fields and courts are lighted, which is why the summer plan here is the 5:30 a.m. opening or a night game.
The siren means stop, not hurry
Frontier Family Park runs a Perry Weather lightning notification system with a siren and a strobe. One 5-second siren blast with a flashing strobe means lightning within 10 miles, and all park activities must stop immediately. The all-clear is three short blasts, sounded after 30 minutes with no further strike inside 10 miles. The same system is installed at Desert Mountain Park. During monsoon season this is the thing that ends a game, and it is automated — nobody is going to come and find you.
8.The Park Rules That Catch People Out
These come from the Town of Queen Creek’s Public Park Regulations, revised September 15, 2021 with Town Code revisions effective January 11, 2022, plus the Town’s current one-page park rules flyer and one 2026 ordinance.
- Dogs: leashed at all times, leash no longer than six feet, under the owner’s direct control, and waste picked up and disposed of immediately.
- Alcohol: no open container of intoxicating liquor above 0.5% ABV anywhere on Town property, including parking lots, basins and washes, except under a special event liquor license or another Town-approved permit.
- Glass: no glass containers anywhere in the park, and trash goes in receptacles only.
- Drones: no flying within 50 feet of a reserved-use area or an active play-area boundary. Recreational fliers must pass the FAA TRUST test, register and mark the aircraft, keep it in visual line of sight and stay at or below 400 feet. Commercial drone work needs a Town permit.
- E-bikes and scooters: Ordinance 890-26, effective May 21, 2026, restricts motorized devices in Town parks — e-bikes, electric mini-scooters, motorized play vehicles, motorized skateboards and micromobility devices — with prohibited-use areas, hands-free rules, speed limits and impound guidelines. Accessibility devices such as motorized wheelchairs are excluded.
- Permits: team practices and games, exclusive-use reservations, and bringing in tents, generators or amplified sound all need a permit completed at least three business days ahead, online or at the Parks & Recreation desk. A refundable damage deposit may be required.
The Town’s published park rules carry a maximum penalty of a $2,500 fine and/or up to six months imprisonment. That is the ceiling written into the rules rather than a typical outcome, but it is the reason the leash and glass rules are not treated as suggestions.
9.Frontier, Mansel Carter, Desert Mountain, Founders’ or Horseshoe: Which Site for Which Day
The Town’s parks list carries five Town-operated sites — four parks plus Horseshoe Park & Equestrian Centre, the equestrian and event venue — and they do genuinely different jobs. Acreage and headline features below are all from Town primary sources as published in September 2026.
| Park | Acreage | Lighted pickleball | Fishing lake | What it has that Frontier does not |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Frontier Family Park | 85 acres | 24 (16 open play, 8 reservable) | 5 acres; license required; not an AZGFD Community Fishing water | Not applicable |
| Mansel Carter Oasis Park | 48 acres plus a 13-acre Phase II expansion (the live Town page still says 48) | 4, open play only | 5 acres; AZGFD Community Fishing water; 13 ft maximum depth | Pump track, wheel-friendly skate plaza, shipwreck splash pad, 6 tennis courts, peninsula and rock waterfall |
| Desert Mountain Park | 29 acres | None listed | None | Amphitheater with picnic-ramada seating for 150–200, demonstration garden, equestrian staging area, age-split playgrounds for 2–5 and 5–12, Wash Trail parking |
| Founders’ Park | 11 acres | None listed | None | Lighted skate park and an adjacent fenced off-leash dog park with four separate grass play areas |
| Horseshoe Park & Equestrian Centre | 38 acres | None listed | None | Arenas and reservable event space for rodeos, equestrian events, vendor fairs and concerts |
- Lighted court after work, no booking: Frontier. Nothing else in town is close on court count.
- Fishing with an official bag-limit card and AZGFD signage: the Lake at Mansel Park.
- A water feature: Frontier’s spray pad or Mansel Carter’s shipwreck splash pad. Desert Mountain’s amenity list has neither.
- Skate park or a fenced off-leash dog run: Founders’ Park, across Ellsworth Road from Town Hall.
- A rodeo, an arena or an equestrian event venue: Horseshoe Park & Equestrian Centre, the Town’s 38-acre event ground on Riggs Road. Frontier has no arena and no equestrian facility of any kind.
- Amphitheater, demonstration garden or equestrian staging: the 29-acre park on Hawes Road, which the Town also names as one of the two public-parking access points for the Queen Creek Wash Trail.
- A 315-foot outfield fence with lights in the hourly rate: Frontier again. Mansel Carter and Desert Mountain both run 200-foot fences at 60-foot base paths, for the same $36 resident rate.